Sunny day shorts

This was my first time to make shorts and boy I enjoyed making it! Sunny day shorts is a free pattern from Oliver + S and as usual, the instructions were excellent. The shorts turned out pretty cute too! I added the visible front pockets using Dana from MADE’s pocket pattern. I was looking for a pocket inspiration when I found these adorable shorts from Mend and Make New.  The main fabric is Robert Kaufmann’s Brussels Washer in denim, which unfortunately Muppet complains is a bit itchy. Hopefully, a few washes will soften it up. For the pockets, I used leftover Crystal Arrowhead Arizona fabric from April Rhodes.

I followed the Sunny day shorts tutorial which was really good, I even used the seam finishing they’ve used in the tutorial like Enclosed straight stitch finished seams for the side seams and Bound (with bias tape) seams for the crotch seams just for fun. It’s a size 4 for my 4-year-old and it’s a nice fit on her.

DSCF3782

 

DSCF3791

 

DSCF3774

 

DSCF3786

 

DSCF3798 - Copy

 

DSCF3769

 

DSCF3773

Leave a comment