Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Another free pattern! It’s the Onstage Tutu Skirt pattern from Oliver + S and I made it especially for the Swan Lake ballet we watched last weekend.  The skirt was really easy to make –  and I used the embroidered cotton’s pretty selvedge edge as hem so no hemming was done at all. It was my first time to use a tulle and I was surprised that it was quite easy to work with. This skirt was inspired by a pretty skirt I saw on Pinterest and so one afternoon I went to Chinatown and Spotlight to get the fabrics. 5 months later, I made the skirt :).

I followed the Onstage Tutu Skirt tutorial which was really good as usual. I used the entire 1 meter of the fabric as the width of the front skirt, and 1 meter for the back skirt to make it really twirly. I didn’t expect that she would love it because it wasn’t pink but she does. She’s already worn it twice and I only made it 5 days ago.

Pattern: Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Fabric: 1 meter of light grey embroidered cotton from Chinatown, 8 dollars per meter / Tulle: 1/2 meter of black tulle from Spotlight, around 5 dollars

Sizing: Used an existing skirt to get this skirt’s length

Construction Notes:

– Used french seams although the seams got a bit thick because of the embroidered edge of the fabric
– Used the embroidered fabric’s selvedge edge as hem

The Verdict: We love it! The waistband which encloses the tulle so it won’t be itchy at the waist is very clever. And of course, she made me promise that her next tutu will be in pink!

Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Oliver + S Onstage Tutu Skirt

Leave a Reply

