Charlie dress

I’ve been eyeing this pattern for a while now, and finally I bought it during a 50% off sale. The description of the dress says “Charlie was inspired by the adorable waist dresses Lucy and Sally wore in the Charlie Brown comic books. Charlie’s swingy silhoutte and oh-so-cute flounce skirt is said to cause spontaneous twirling“. I definitely agree! I’ve seen a lot of cute Charlie dresses like this purple beauty, this pretty floral one, and this Nani Iro dress that makes me want to sew one in my size.

The dress was quite easy to construct, attaching the bias facings for the neck and armholes took the longest time for me. And choosing the back button haha. This was the first time I made a button loop and it was nice to try something new that is not too intimidating. I only wished I’ve made an effort to pattern match the back seams but all in all I’m very happy with this dress.

Pattern: Charlie dress PDF pattern by Mingo and Grace (I bought during a flash sale 50% off so I got this pattern for 5 usd)

Fabric: Gigi in Marseille – Swirly Girl Design – Michael Miller Fabric quilting cotton fabric bought at my local online fabric shop The Laughing House at around  14 sgd per yard. I bought 1.5 meters but I think I only used a yard so I can still make another top or skirt out of it 🙂 / Store bought yellow bias tape

Sizing: 4

Design Changes: Used bias tape for the hem’s dress. I didn’t follow the instructions in attaching the bias tape on flat for the armholes. Instead, I sewed the side seams first and suffered a lot trying to attach the bias tape with the the tiny, tiny armholes. Argh. Next time, I promise to follow instructions.

The Verdict: I love it and she loves it! I want to make a few more. I think it’s the ideal pattern to make dresses as gifts for my niece and friends’ kids.

Charlie dress pattern by Mingo and Grace

Charlie dress pattern by Mingo and Grace

Charlie dress pattern by Mingo and Grace

Charlie dress pattern by Mingo and Grace

Charlie dress pattern by Mingo and Grace

Charlie dress pattern by Mingo and Grace

Charlie dress pattern by Mingo and Grace

Charlie dress pattern by Mingo and Grace

Charlie dress pattern by Mingo and Grace

2 thoughts on “Charlie dress

Leave a Reply

