Simple Sleeveless Top and Everyday Skirt

I love sleeveless tops. That’s all I ever wear in always sunny Singapore and so most of the time that’s what I sew for myself. This sleeveless top here is extra special because it’s a little bit fitted (on waist and hips) than most of my tank top patterns so I can tuck it in. I like that! It’s the Simple Sleeveless top pattern from the Learn to Sew with Lauren book that I got from my England trip last September.  I chose my size based on my measurements which is a 12 and it fits me just nice.

Top PatternSimple Sleeveless top pattern from the Learn to Sew with Lauren book

Fabric: A floral lawn fabric I bought in the Philippines 2 years ago.

Sizing: 12 – bust 36, waist 30, hips 40 (my hips measure 36 but I just used size 12 all the way)

Design Changes: Used french seams, made my own bias tape, used a smaller hem because I prefer a slighly longer top.

The Verdict: I love it. I can wear it with skirts and shorts so I’m happy. I’m currently cutting 2 more tops, one in dotted swiss and one in rayon challis.

Simple Sleeveless top and Everyday skirt

DSCF7014

DSCF7080


DSCF6999DSCF7031 DSCF7035

DSCF7095DSCF7097

Simple Sleeveless top and Everyday skirtDSCF6974

I’ve made the Liesl + Co’s Everyday skirt before so this was an easy make. I used XS size this time but I think I like the size S’s fit better on me. Most of my tops have patterns so I made this in a plain fabric, a little boring but at least I can pair it with a lot of my tops.

Skirt Pattern: Liesl + Co’s Everyday skirt (made it before, here)

Fabric: Robert Kaufmann’s Brussels Washer in denim

Sizing: XS

Design Changes: Made a bigger hem because it was a bit too long.

The Verdict: I like that I can pair it with a lot of my tops. I’m planning to make a at least 2 more Everyday skirt. I’ll use a size S next time.

DSCF6975 DSCF6976

2 thoughts on “Simple Sleeveless Top and Everyday Skirt

  1. I love both the top and the skirt! Have you found a lot of other useful sewing projects in the book? I love little details, like the pockets in another fabric…looks good!

    • Thanks Teresa! I really like the projects in the book, some of the ones I want to try out are the Yoke top (what’s she’s wearing on the book cover), a cute A line skirt, an apron and a pretty dress. It’s currently on sale in Book Depository if you’re interested 🙂

Leave a Reply

