Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

Wow! That’s what I said when muppet first tried this skirt and top and on. I couldn’t believe I made something so pretty and quite complicated (for me). You see, I always stick with beginner patterns but I finally decided to try this Oliver + S Badminton skirt, top + dress (rated as 2 scissors). The top was quite fiddly especially attaching the ruffles to the yoke and it looked like a one big mess and so I avoided it for weeks and weeks. I finally decided to finish it during the long Chinese New Year holidays and I’m so glad I did. Luckily, she was wearing this outfit when we had a meal in the charming and rustic Joo Chiat so most of the photos were taken in front of the pretty (and closed due to the holidays) shophouses.

Pattern: Oliver + S Badminton skort, top + dress (made the skort once before, here)

Fabric: Navy blue with tiny white flowers 100% cotton bought at a fabric shop in Arab Street for 8 dollars per meter / Top: Solid teal voile bought at a fabric shop in Chinatown for 8 dollars per meter / Ribbon: Blue with running white stitches bought in Hong Kong years ago

Sizing: 4

Design Changes:

– Used the entire 60″ width of the fabric for the skirt to make it fuller
– Skipped the scallops for the skort
– Used french seams for the top
– Made the top’s hem smaller because originally (as in these photos), the top looked a bit short on her. Must be because of muppet’s big belly haha.

The Verdict: I love it! My paper pattern comes only until size 4 so I’m planning to make more of this. I’ll probably make the dress next. My daughter also loves it a lot, and it is not even pink!

PS This summary of Pattern/Fabric/Sizing/Design Changes/Verdict format was adapted from The Quirky Peach’s blog. I love her blog and I think this summary is much easier (and cleaner) to read.

Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

 

Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

 

Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

 

Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

 

Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

We can see her belly when she raises her arms so I made the top a bit longer later on

 

 

Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

 

Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

 

Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

 

Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

 

Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

 

Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

And that’s a wrap!

 

One thought on “Oliver + S Badminton skort and top

  1. Pingback: Oliver + S Badminton dress | girl with a sewing machine

Leave a Reply

