Gleeful Everyday skirt

I made a skirt and it makes me happy everytime I wear it. The pattern is Liesl + Co’s Everyday skirt and I think it’s my favorite pattern to date. I’ve really enjoyed making it, the instructions were clear, detailed, and very beginner friendly. The roomy and nearly invisible pockets(especially with my busy fabric) are my favourite, I can’t keep my hands out of them! I actually wasn’t that keen with the pattern at first because of the elasticated back waistband(reminds me of my daughter’s skirts) but I still bought it so I can make a skirt for my sister-in-law. Elasticated back waistband = easy to fit, right? I made a test skirt for myself first and I loved it even before I hemmed it – comfy and cute plus really neat insides, I’m thinking of making a few more like the plaid with biased side panels I saw in the Liesl + Co’s website and a chambray one and one with anchor prints. The skirt, I think is a little bit big (size S) because I chose to wear it at my natural waist but the size is based on dropped waist measurement, the instructions said choose a smaller size if you wear it at your natural waist so I’ll make an XS next time. Singapore is so hot and humid these days that I can’t bring myself to wear jeans in the morning, so skirts for me everyday then! Oh, and it turned out my sister-in-law doesn’t like gathered skirts so I need to find another A-line skirt pattern with a waistband and waist darts and not high-waisted. Any ideas?

The happy fabric is a quilting cotton from Art Gallery’s Gleeful collection named “After the rain”, I think I used around 2 yards of it. I got it from my favourite local online etsy shop The Laughing House, I actually picked the fabrics (I got some Arizona fabrics too) up in Fanny’s house in Pasir Ris. Yay for local fabric shops!

I took these photos just a few minutes before leaving the house for a dinner at Bishan Park so I managed to get Simon and the muppet in the photos too!

gleeful everyday skirt

gleeful everyday skirt

DSCF7193

DSCF7199

DSCF7201

dscf7222

dscf7235

4 thoughts on “Gleeful Everyday skirt

  1. Looks like the perfect summer skirt! There’s lots of online tutorials to make a simple A line skirt but if you want a pattern, maybe the Colette Ginger? I haven’t made it before though.

  2. I’m keen on this pattern and yours looks perfect. ..definitely better than jeans!
    You should try Tessuti’s free A-line skirt pattern. .. sounds exactly what you’re after, its written up and drafted well and free too! I’ve made one already (unblogged) and find it so versatile. .. base it on your hip measurements as I think it runs a bit big. Hope that helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

