Zippy tops and some Yangon photos

I can’t remember where I first saw the See Kate Sew’s Zippy top pattern but I immediately liked the top’s exposed zip on the back. I’ve always wanted to learn how to install an exposed zipper so this was an opportunity for me to learn a new technique, and the bonus was a cute simple pattern. Printing it was quite confusing though, I’ve used quite a number of PDF patterns and they usually have a test square  so I can check if I printed it correctly but I couldn’t find it in this pattern. There were also no borders to make it easier to tape the pieces together.

I didn’t have small zippers in my stash so I just went for it and skipped the facing and zipper altogether and used bias bindings for the neckline. I love the kimono sleeves and I think this top is really cute if made with a soft and drapey fabric. I made my first Zippy top using a japanese voile fabric (1.5 yards) I got in Myanmar. It’s really super soft and I love the tiny green and yellow florals. I made a size Small and I thought it was a bit snug so I used the Medium for my next top.

See Kate Sew's Zippy top See Kate Sew's Zippy top See Kate Sew's Zippy top

For the second top, I used a japanese lawn fabric that I got again in Myanmar. The medium felt a bit loose though so finally I checked the pattern instructions. That’s when I realized that the seam allowance was supposed to be 3/8, I used 5/8 for both my first and second tops. Ugh, what a muppet.

See Kate Sew's Zippy top
See Kate Sew's Zippy top

And so I made a third top using Robert Kaufman’s Dot chambray (I bought a bolt of this last year) using size Small again but with the correct 3/8 seam allowance. This time, the fit is just nice. I still used french seams with the 3/8 allowance haha.
See Kate Sew's Zippy top
See Kate Sew's Zippy top

See Kate Sew's Zippy top

So that’s it, 3 new super wearable tops that I made in a week. That’s unheard of for me, but they are really easy to make especially if you skip the zipper and facings. I still want to try and install the exposed zip one day if I ever get the time to go to Spotlight or Chinatown. And to end this post, here are some mostly sewing-related photos from our Yangon, Myanmar trip a few weeks ago:

DSCF8648

I bought 9 yards of dotted swiss fabrics from this shop. Yum!

DSCF8650

Ladies sewing Longyi (sarong-like skirts) at the Bogyoke Aung San market.

DSCF8651

Not just ladies sewing…

DSCF8712

We were walking to get our breakfast when we saw this sewing shop on the side of the road

DSCF8491

Ladies are wearing pretty traditional clothes

DSCF8722

And they apply thanaka on their cheeks which serves as a kind of sunblock plus cooling sensation. The people in Yangon were so nice and really friendly.

DSCF8566

At the Shwedagon Pagoda with my daughter

One thought on “Zippy tops and some Yangon photos

  1. Pingback: I love Nani Iro (Riding peplum top and Zippy top) | girl with a sewing machine

Leave a Reply

