Chambray Riding Peplum top

This is actually my second Riding Peplum top . I’m obsessed with this latest pattern from April Rhodes that I’m planning to cut my third top tonight. It’s really easy to make with 4 pattern pieces and I only used 1.2 meters of fabric for a Size S top. The fabric is the very popular Robert Kaufmann’s Chambray Union with tiny woven dots and the fabric is so soft and lovely, it’s quite perfect for this top.

The side and shoulder seams were french seamed, for the waist seam I used simulated french seam and for the hem I used my new favorite method of hemming from Grainline’s easy roll hem method. I also used Grainline’s armhole and neck binding method, I’ve used this method a couple of times before so I didn’t read the instructions anymore and I only realized later that I clipped the seam binding only instead of clipping the garment seam. Aargh that’s why it’s not laying as flat as usual. It still looks ok though (or I don’t want to unpick it anymore).

I’m not quite sure what happened because this top turned a bit tight that I had to wear a non-padded, non-wire bra so I can wear it comfortably. My first top (which I haven’t photographed yet) was a bit loose in the same size S but I used a Nani Iro double gauze fabric for it so I’m not sure if I stretched my first top. Anyway, I love them both and I hope to solve the mystery with the third top soon.

I also bought my sewing machine around this time last year and I’m so glad I did! I can’t wait to learn more and sew more ๐Ÿ™‚

Riding peplum top

Riding peplum top

Riding peplum top

20140101-190745.jpg

My first rolled hem

20140106-151615.jpg

Very neat insides ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Chambray Riding Peplum top

    • Thanks Janey! I’m actually making my 3rd staple dress now, the second one in XS was quite tight so I’m back to size S. We missed you at the yellow skirt roundup! I still want to see your yellow skirt, show show!!!

  1. Pingback: More riding peplum tops | girl with a sewing machine

Leave a Reply

