Eucalypt tanks

My mum visited us for almost a month and on the night before her flight back to the Philippines, I decided to make her a top. Yes typical me. She likes simple sleeveless shirts so I initially thought I’d make her a Grainline Tiny Pocket Tank. Then I remember I bought Megan Nielsen’s Breakwater Collection pack as soon as it was released but I haven’t touched it yet so now is the perfect time to give it a try. The Eucalypt Tank looks easy enough and it doesn’t even have darts. Perfect for last minute sewing!

20130720-204956.jpg

I made the XS for her but it was a bit tight so I made another one which is an S. She likes it and I wish I had time to make her a few more.

20130720-204812.jpg

20130720-204826.jpg

As soon as I got home after taking her to the airport, I finished up the XS that didn’t fit her and who else it is for but for me?

20130720-204950.jpg

20130720-204834.jpg

I’m not sure why the back looks like that. It doesn’t look tight in real life but it looks weird in the photos. I’ve just started reading about swayback alterations and I’m not sure yet if this is my problem. Here’s a good post but a bit too technical for me haha, my brain refuses to work on Sundays.

20130720-204851.jpg

Oh and I ran out of bias tape so here’s how it looks inside. Still all nice and neat though because the pattern instructions call for french seams.

20130720-205005.jpg

I’ll definitely make a few more of the Eucalypt tank, maybe even a dress and that center front seam looks interesting too. I love the fit, it’s nice and loose but not baggy at all.

The sums:
Eucalypt tank/dress pattern – 24 sgd (20 aud)
2 meters of voile from The Fabric Warehouse, Libis, Philippines – 8 sgd (I should have bought more!)
Total: 32 sgd for 2 shirts. Not bad πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Eucalypt tanks

  1. I LOVE the inside of your top! So bright! That would make me so happy just knowing all that extra colour was hiding out in the inside. Gorgeous fabric too, love the whole thing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

